Jeeper's '78 F250 long term restore

My grandpa bought this truck brand new while working at a ford dealer. I've been asking for it since I was about 6 years old. It was the first vehicle I drove (age 9ish?) The truck has been borrowed and abused by every relative, neighbor, and ward member since it was new. One particular neighbor owned an orchard, and twice stepped out of the truck without getting it fully into park, and left the drivers door opened. This resulted in the drivers door being smashed by a tree when the truck would drive off on its own.
The truck quit running back in 2012, so grandpa sent it home with me. He passes away not much later.
The truck has been sitting in my garage for the past 4 years, and has finally been pulled out.
Its in much worse shape than I remembered. :(
the fuel line was glogged, but I was able to get it cleared, and the truck fired up. She blows some blue smoke, but not too much..
The floor board basically doesn't exist anymore on the drivers side. The bed is in poor shape.

image.jpegimage.jpegimage.jpeg

This is going to be a long slow process to get restored. I will have to spend money and time as they allow.

We are having current discussions on what direction we want to go with it. Not sure if I want to keep it as original as possible, or if I would like to do a modern build (newer axles, power stroke engine, suspension, etc)
Original would be fun, as most is still original.. But modern would be a blast also.

Stay at tuned as we tackle this project!

Last edited:

Tonkaman

Personally I'd put a ban on anything Ford from entering your driveway. There's is bad ju ju there...

No doubt in my mind that I would go modern with it. That being said, no way in hell a power stroke motor would qualify for the build.

jeeper

Currently without Jeep
Planning to join us for the Relic Run in June?

That is what got it pulled out in the first place. Looks like she's at least worthy enough to attempt the trip! :)