5th wheel/trailer living

TRD270

Emptying Pockets Again
Supporting Member
So, transferred from Hawaii back to mainland. Having more difficultly finding a place to live part time than I thought.

Prices are higher than I anticipated so instead of giving money someone else I’m thinking about picking up a 5th wheel or park model trailer. This should not be moving often. I’m a total noob with trailers, I’ve never owned one, my families never owned one.

Looking to buy used so losses are minimal when it’s time to move on. What should I look for? Brands to avoid? Arctic/winter/whatever that manufacturer calls it I assume is a must for 4 season use? What accessories are needed to hook up at a park?

Was looking at this one https://springfield.craigslist.org/rvd/d/hot-springs-national-park-2017-palomino/7210862205.html

Turns out it sold a few days ago, dealer said he’s trying to get ahold of another one. Most of the guys at the base commute in as will I so some extra bunks I could rent as a crash pad are a plus.

jeeper

Currently without Jeep
I don't have all the answers, but I am guessing a Park model with be a difficult thing to sell again. Not a huge market for them, imo.

Also, from following @sixstringsteve, it didn't seem that living in a trailer was any cheaper than a small apartment. Nightly rental adds up for a trailer.

TRD270

Emptying Pockets Again
Supporting Member
I don't have all the answers, but I am guessing a Park model with be a difficult thing to sell again. Not a huge market for them, imo.
Interesting, maybe depends on the area? My pal who’s working in Florida turns out had the same idea. Had no idea until he sent me a pic of his new purchase. He said he’s also been looking at park models but they’ve been selling soon as they hit the lot so he hasn’t been able to get one.

I can’t see much of a use for one out here but might be more popular in snowbird areas? 🤷‍♂️

Hickey

Burn-barrel enthusiast
Supporting Member