Concrete bolt anchors

lewis

Fight Till You Die
Thinking of using the concrete bolt anchors to put a basketball hoop up. I have never used them before so I don't know the load ratings and if they will be able to keep the base of the basketball hoop solid. Anyone use these and know how they hold up? I am talking about the kind that you drill a hole, then pound the bolt in and tighten up.

gijohn40

too poor to wheel... :(
commonly called redheads... they are use all over town... the strength depends on the size you get... I use them all the time to put network racks in to hold up to earthquakes... I can't tell you how well they will do but if you look on the box they come in they will have a load rating on them

Cascadia

Undecided
Redheads are not approved anymore on residential houses. What you want is called a Titen hd bolt. That is what is required now on retrofit straps and hold downs. You probably can't get them at a home improvement place but you can at any lumber store. They are a threaded bolt. So you drill the hole and then tighten the bolt in with an impact wrench. 1/2" would be great but 5/8" would be no question. And you don't have to worry about any extra bolt sticking up. It's just the hex bolt head.

Tonkaman

The load ratings depend on the concrete density and the depth of the anchor as well. Just use 3/8" anchors even with softer concrete and 2" depth they will hold a couple thousand pounds. Do yourself a favor and drill the hole deeper than the anchor length so that you can just bury them if you drill it wrong or want to move the hoop later

blznnp