Considering Nikon D3200 or Canon EOS Rebel T3i

jentzschman

So, Im going back to school, yea! Anyway, one of the options for a fine arts credit is intro to photography which requires a SLR camera.

So far I have been looking at these two cameras and wanted to get some feedback on them. I am VERY new to SLR cameras and don't know a thing about them. I know that will change over time so a good camera that I can grow into is welcome.

From the very limited research I have done on them so far, the Nikon seems to beat out the Cannon by a slight margin. Seems the Nikon offers a larger CMOS sensor and faster shutter speeds. Overall better image quality also goes to the Nikon.

This is based off very limited research on the two. However, overall user ratings have the Cannon as a favorite.

What are your thoughts between these two, or do you have another option. Price MUST be below ~800

Thank you.

Caleb

Not sure if you've already looked at this, but it's useful:

http://www.dpreview.com/products/compare/side-by-side?products=canon_eos600d&products=nikon_d3200

http://dpreview.com has great info on these as well. For the most part, you're going to run in to the Ford vs. Chevy debate. If you're a Canon guy, then the Canon would be a better choice, Nikon, same thing. They're generally religious sides :D Something to consider, if you've got a family member, friend, etc that you can swap lenses with, then get what they have (Nikon or Canon). Although, I didi that years ago (bought a Nikon D40x) and then my brother sold his Nikon shortly after. I wanted the Canon, only because everything else I had (P&S, Camcorder, etc) were all Canon.

wheelewagon