Dual Sport bikes

gripguru

Nate Davidson
I am seriously considering a bike for commuting. The duramax gets 15mpg driving around town and I cannot break even on mileage reimbursement for work.
I am a beginner, so have almost no knowledge of the bikes. I can see the little differences, but cannot determine based on specs... what should I look at the most seriously.

I like the Yamaha best, fuel injection would be reliable, but it is a brand new model year and I am always hesitant to purchase something that is brand new. I addressed this with the salesman and he had a great counter, "Yamaha does 7 years testing of prototypes before releasing to the public". Was I sold or does that seem true?

Yamaha WR250R $5899.00
Link to 250 specs
08WR250R_6a_8f31b108.jpg

Last edited:

Greg

Make RME Rockcrawling Again!
Admin
Out of all the 4 stroke bikes I've owned in the past 10 years I have never had carb trouble. EFI is cool but not needed for a dual sport, IMO. Matter of fact, I'd dare say it complicates a bike that shouldn't be complicated to start with. My last ride took me from 4500 ft to almost 13,000 ft and I didn't have any real problems. There was a lack of power up high and the bike was a tad harder to start, but not an issue.

Which Yamaha are you looking at? If you've never been on a bike before, I'd start out with a smaller, used bike. That also depends on what type of riding you'll be doing. Freeway riding isn't fun on a smaller bike. If you're stuck on Yamaha I'd check out the XT 225. They're pretty good beginner bikes, get amazing mileage, easy to ride, etc.

gripguru

Nate Davidson
If you're stuck on Yamaha I'd check out the XT 225. They're pretty good beginner bikes, get amazing mileage, easy to ride, etc.

I have looked at that one and it was no comparison to that WR. Price was great though.

I have ridden a harley, a 600 yamaha from the 80s and a super bike - YZF 1000, but not daily and never for any considerable distance. So I consider myself really new.