Hole in the Rock trail - March

sixstringsteve

Hole in the Rock trail - March 22-25

March 22-25

I've always wanted to do the Hole in the Rock Trail, but situations never worked out. I've never done the trail before, but I promise to do all the research necessary and pick a good route.

official plan

We will be on CB channel 17

Thursday

3:00 PM - Meet @ cabelas in Lehi (point A on the map). Meet in the south-east parking lot. Please come with enough gas to get to Price.
3:15 PM - Leave Cabelas, headed towards price.
5:30 PM - Arrive in Price (point B on the map). Gas up, last-minute groceries/food.
5:45 PM - Leave Price, headed towards Green River
6:45 PM - Arrive in Green River (point C on the map). Gas up.
7:00 PM - Leave Green River headed towards our camping spot for the evening. I've never camped down here before, so I have a back-up camp site in case the first one doesn't work out. The first choice is Fry Canyon Ruins Rd (point D on the map). Back-up camp site is point E on the map.
9:15 PM - Arrive at Fry Canyon Ruins Rd. (Point D on map). If Fry Canyon road has a "no camping" sign posted, or if it isn't big enough to accomodate our group, we'll need to move on to the back-up campsite.

If Fry Canyon doesn't work out...

10:00 PM - Arrive at Point E to camp.

[map]http://maps.google.com/maps?saddr=2502+West+Grand+Terrace+Parkway,+Lehi,+UT+84043+(Cabela's)&daddr=W+100+N%2FW+1st+N+St+to:W+Main+St+to:Fry+Canyon+Ruins+Road,+San+Juan,+UT+to:37.474858,-110.12764+to:Unknown+road&hl=en&ll=38.967951,-111.401367&spn=7.173524,16.907959&sll=38.955145,-110.954355&sspn=3.588021,8.453979&geocode=FZUFaQId1LNU-SEfzQM9mrfFXimx3fG0O4BShzFfePRfxdGT2g%3BFf5CXAIdl_dk-Q%3BFQ4DUwIdl7hu-Q%3BFRRxPgIdUAxv-SnLpfgPSK83hzFUOlvkv3s_Fg%3BFSrSOwId6JVv-Q%3BFcXMOwIdFJpv-Q&t=h&mra=ls&z=7[/map]

Friday

7:00 AM - Wake up, have breakfast
8:00 AM - Break camp and head out to the airport to gas up.
9:00 AM - Arrive at the airport. Gas up.
9:30 AM - Leave the airport and head on on the trail.