Hoosier's Jeep XJ (Yes another XJ build)

hoosier

mtn yot
Ok so I am going to go ahead and do a build thread. If you don't know this kinda started under the thread Cherokee help. http://www.rme4x4.com/forumdisplay.php?13-General-4x4-Discussion Yes I know ANOTHER XJ build. Well this is my first Jeep. I picked up this XJ in a trade for my suburban that I could not just keep chasing issues. So after I got it home it had 4 spares on it. So with some help from another RMEer I picked up a set of old school bias ply mudders and a nice set of rims. I am a machinist for a living and I have built my sub frame connectors, integrated rock sliders and I will be doing a simi-boat side once I get the rock sliders and sub frame connectors. I am also designing a set of bumpers that I build at work. So I quickly started beating it just to see what I could get to break. It came with a long arm 5" kit (found out it is an older one that I have to redesign to work right). I quickly found out that this thing had NO flex. I am going to disconnect the sway bars to see if it helps. I have decided to purchase a set of newer XJ axle and build them up and swap them out to keep down time at a minimum. Gears front and rear, selectable locker front lunch box locker rear, upgraded shafts and joints with cross over steering. So like I said this is my first jeep and I know NOTHING about jeeps. So any sugestions or comments are welcomed and encouraged.

When I got it home

CAM00257_zps3e648b9d.jpg

after I got the wheels and tires on it

CAM00279_zps3059d18f.jpgCAM00278_zpscc356061.jpg

received a little help from my little buddy

CAM00280_zpsc68aa203.jpg

When I found out it had NO flex

CAM00300_zpsed994ef2.jpgCAM00301_zps8394d976.jpg

After beating the Holly H311 out of it and jumping it with no breakage.

CAM00312_zps0b70d899.jpg

Things to do:

-) redo the upper suspention to get rid of the stock upper links.

-) Install frame stiffners

-) install intergrsted rock sliders