Toyota Looking at lifts for 4Runners

Caleb

So, up until two days ago, I was 99% sure I was going to be doing an Old Man Emu lift on my 2016 4Runner. I loved my OME lift on my Tacoma so I was pretty set. Then I saw that Teraflex has Falcon shocks for the 4Runner that give it a 2”Lift using the stock coils. I’ve heard nothing but rave reviews about that Falcons, so that’s a very intriguing thought. Then, I just noticed OME has the BP-51 lifts. They seem very nice, I would imagine probably on-par with the Falcons. I also though maybe the regular OME and do some nice Bilstein shocks?

My goal is to fit 33” tires (I’ll have them already from my wife’s JL Rubicon) on our 4Runner. It seems it’s maybe doable with 2” of lift, 3” is probably a safer bet. I’ve not lifted anything in a long time and feel like a total newb these days. So, give me your thoughts on:
  • Regular Old Man Emu (maybe upgrade shocks)
  • Falcon shocks with stock coils
  • Old Man Emu bp-51 kit
I’m also open to other suggestions. I will occasionally tow my rzr so that is probably a factor to consider too. I don’t plan to do any crawling, just mostly forest roads type driving and primarily will be a commuter.

Greg

Make RME Rockcrawling Again!
Admin
I don't know much about the OME BP51's, but they seem pretty impressive. The Falcons are built so they operate in 3 stages of travel, so no matter what you're doing they can handle it, the shock bodies are quite large and the pistons are built with massive fluid ports. They also have a negative spring built into them too, so they resist harsh bottoming out if you unweight them. I've been very impressed with the Falcons, have owned 3 sets now and haven't been left wanting anything different.

Caleb

Yeah, I was super jealous my wife is going to get some falcon 3.3s on her Jeep so I was pretty excited to see they had something for the 4Runner. I’m only concerned that it’s only 2”.

moab_cj5

Supporting Member