My robot

cruiseroutfit

Cruizah!
Vendor
As some of you know, I am a Mechanical Engineering student at the U. As part of my classes, we are building a small robot to compete against other robots. It is required to walk (not roll, no tracks, etc) and it has to meet a series of specifications (weight, size, etc). On top of that, it is 100% automatic, meaning as a soon as we press the start button on the robot, it must seek the other robot using its own built in functions... Pretty geeky eh?

Here is a pic of our robot thusfar:

Attachments

• robot_01.jpg
    robot_01.jpg
    25.1 KB · Views: 34

cruiseroutfit

Cruizah!
Vendor
RockMonkey said:
Cool. Can ya use weapons?

We can (and will) incorporate a defense mechanism next semester, but it can not be destructive. The goal is to flip the opponent or push them out of the "ring" that we are competing in. There are ~25 teams, and the winning team is exempt from the final test in the class...

I still have to do alot of soldering to add the battery pack, the handyboard, the H-bridge, IR & sonar sensors... :D

RockMonkey

Suddenly Enthusiastic
The goal is to either knock it off it's feet, or push it out of the ring, eh? There must be a weight limit, then? What other restrictions? How are you making it "sense" the other bot?

cruiseroutfit

Cruizah!
Vendor
RockMonkey said:
The goal is to either knock it off it's feet, or push it out of the ring, eh? There must be a weight limit, then? What other restrictions? How are you making it "sense" the other bot?

Yup, there is a wight limit, as well as a size limit (~8"x8")