off road trailer coupler

mesha

By endurance we conquer
I have been using my little off road trailer for several years now. I love it and it has gone many places with me. I am thinking about building a trailer coupler for it. I like the max coupler, but was thinking of a slightly different approach.

Would a 1.25" heim joint work? I can't really see a problem, but I am not very far into the thinking about it process;).

Rock Taco

Found this

http://www.pirate4x4.com/forum/expedition-vehicles/995756-using-hiem-trailer-coupler.html

IMG_20110806_181518.jpg

Last edited:

Caleb

The problem I could see with a heim is noise. Heims always end up getting noisy over time, I would think especially if it's used as a trailer hitch of sorts. I really like the idea of the Max Connector where it uses bushings.

mesha

By endurance we conquer
What about a large joint like the teraflex large flex joint? It is rebuildable, has a bushing so it won't be noisy and a lot of articulation.

skippy

Pretend Fabricator
What about the size of bolt that each joint uses I am not sure but I think the 1.25 heim would take a bigger bolt and that may be better

mesha

By endurance we conquer
I dont know the bolt size on the terajoint, but I also think the heim would be bigger. However, the terajoint style has a ball rather than separate spacers which I kinda like.

TJDukit

I.Y.A.A.Y.A.S.
What about the Metal Cloak duraflex joints? They have builder joints that will fit into most "johnny Joint" style housings including Teraflex joints. You wouldn't get any noise at all.

mesha

By endurance we conquer
What about the Metal Cloak duraflex joints? They have builder joints that will fit into most "johnny Joint" style housings including Teraflex joints. You wouldn't get any noise at all.

Those are definitely something to look at.

Caleb