Pipe vs. D.O.M tubing

oxbronco

I have a question, about Pipe and DOM tubing, I work in the welding industry and we fabricate pretty much any thing that comes our way, we do everything from natural gas pipe, steam pipe, water pipe, alot of pipe in chemical plants, to structural fab and every thing in between. My question is it seems like this DOM tubing is mostly almost exclusivley used in the automotive industry for example, roll cages. Over the years we have built a few roll cages for people but out of 2 or 2 1/2'' scd. 80 pipe. All of our notching dies are for pipe, Is it really worth it to get set up to work with DOM?

lewis

Fight Till You Die
Pipe doesn't have the strength of DOM. DOM is typically 1018 steel where pipe is most likely 1010. I have seen people use pipe for cages. I have used HREW tube which isn't as strong as DOM and it worked fine but I had to replace pieces everytime I rolled cause it would deform pretty easy.

Herzog

somewhat damaged
Admin
DOM also has consistent wall thickness and more strength because it is "Drawn over a mandrel" as opposed to rolled and welded. You could also argue that the strength to weight ratio is much better with DOM vs pipe.

Shtmtlman

Not that i am trying to start a big debate, because i am only speaking from my own experience and i am no expert, but i have seen more dented and kinked DOM cages than i have seen sch.40. The weight difference between 20' sticks is 8.6 pounds. I do know that DOM flexs more than pipe as well. I built my cage out of HREW and i have also built a cage out of SCH.40 and have never had a problem with either. I know nothing about sch.80 what is the wall thickness? I also built my rock sliders out of sch.40 and no dents. My buddys rock sliders are made of DOM and have multiple dents in them. Plus the cost is a big difference to. I may be wrong or right, either way this is only what i have witnessed.

Greg

Make RME Rockcrawling Again!
Admin