Printing

scramble this

Umm.. Where am I?
So I am relatively new to the concealed carry world (bout a year), and I hear lots of people talk about printing. I understand that it is making you gun visible under clothing (imprint of the gun), but my question is, why is it such a big concern? Does it make it "not concealed" by law or something? I understand you dont want to give away the fact that you are carrying in order to not make yourself a target or to make people panic, but is that the only concern? Is there any real damage done by leaning over and someone seeing there is "something" there? My experience shows most people dont even notice, let alone assume its a gun, and the ones that do seem to be fellow permit holders. Just wonderin...

pELYgroso

'Merica
The instructor at my class was really thorough with his program, and he talked about the fact that while carrying, you'll obviously need to wear baggier shirts, etc so that your gun isn't hanging out of your pants for the whole world to see, but not much emphasis was put on it being illegal if it can be seen at all. I could be wrong, but i don't see how it would be illegal for the gun to possibly be seen under your shirt or whatever when it is perfectly legal to carry a sidearm, unloaded, here in utah that is holstered and in plain sight of everybody. anybody know the exact law?

Mug

PHORmerly
If you took your class more than a few months ago, the law about seeing the outline of the gun wasn't passed yet. As far as comparing to open carrying, you have to either fully conceal OR fully open carry your weapon. I see what your saying, and I don't know exactly why it's the way it is.

Tacoma

Et incurventur ante non
beyond any law that's out there, it's just good sense to make sure no one can see it. Why would you advertise the fact that you're carrying by letting your gun show? Plus, people get nervous when guns are around, and do things like... call the cops. No one wants that. ;)

Mug

PHORmerly