Jeep Project "Culpepper" 5.2L V8 Swap

Slangy

Sgt. CulPepper
Project "Culpepper" 2.5L to 5.2L V8 Swap

So all year I have told myself I wouldn't spend any money on the TJ in 2011. Well we can blame my wife for telling me she has had it with the four angry squirrels under the hood. Today I picked up a 99 Durango with a 5.2 V8 and auto trans. In the next week I will be pulling all the parts needed off the Durango and getting ready to tear into "Culpepper". I am not good at documenting my work so let's keep our fingers crossed that I can provide a nice write-up so others don't make all the same mistakes as me.
Wish me luck.

Here is a picture of said Durangoand a pic of Culpepper, if your wondering why I named him Culpepper it's because of my buddy "Fat Brett" he used to call it Sgt. Culpepper and the name just stuck.

Attachments

• durango.jpg
    durango.jpg
    34 KB · Views: 81
  • culpepper.jpg
    culpepper.jpg
    188.8 KB · Views: 128
Last edited:

Bart

Looking forward to seeing this build. Funny thing, I have a Jeeping buddy in California named Brett Culpepper.

RockChucker

that is a sweet jeep and will be fun project for sure. i'm gathering parts to put a 5.3 ls1 into my TJ. where is that pic? is it on the pickle?

Slangy

Sgt. CulPepper
Thanks guys, hopefully it will turn out well. I have done a lot of research and am fairly confident I will do a good job. Doing the swap in my father-in-laws garage because he is gonna let me park the donor their while we do it, since I don't have much room. So it starts today, I am going to head to his house and clean up the garage and get it ready to start tearing things apart. i will keep you all posted.
Yeah the tires are in great shape and will be for sale as soon as I have the parts off it I need, it would be kind of hard to maneuver a vehicle around with no tires, unless you had wheels and tires to swap. I will let you know as soon as they are ready.

Off I go

Slangy

Sgt. CulPepper