Jeep Replacing Pinion Yoke on XJ 8.25

Homefryy

The U-joint at the pinion yoke on my XJ's rear axle failed and the pinion yoke got some nasty wear. The keeper tab for the U-joint is completely gone on one side.

Is there a way that I can replace the yoke without messing with preload and all that fun diff stuff? I have no experience messing with differential internals and lack the tools to deal with that.

20191109_133045.jpg

20191109_133041.jpg

I Lean

Mbryson's hairdresser
Vendor
That axle uses a crush sleeve on the pinion, so IN THEORY you need to replace that if you mess with the pinion nut/yoke.

In practice, you can replace the yoke (and seal, and nut...do all 3) without disturbing too much. You just have to be careful not to get too much preload on those bearings when putting on the new nut.

Herzog

somewhat damaged
Admin
If you get a replacement, try to get a ubolt version instead of straps too. But yea, tighten it back down but make sure you don't crush the sleeve any more (it takes quite a bit) and then stake the nut. I've seen many nuts back off after something like this and then take out a pinion bearing.

A super temporary fix would be to weld a little tab onto the ujoint strap to keep the cap in if needed.

Homefryy

Thanks for the input everybody. Just ordered this u-bolt yoke. https://www.ironrockoffroad.com/product/chrysler-825-u-bolt-yoke-kit.html

I will see how just tightening the nut down on the current crush sleeve goes and hope for the best. I guess worse case scenario I destroy the diff internals and then I will be forced to open things up and re-gear.

The current suggested torque for the pinion nut is 150 ft-lbs. Anybody have a different number they want to suggest?

Last edited:

crosbike

Can you pull the crush sleeve and measure it and make a solid spacer to that width? Then put in and torque down the nut without putting any more preload on the bearing?

I Lean

Mbryson's hairdresser
Vendor