The tow rig stereo thread

Gravy

Ant Anstead of Dirtbikes
Supporting Member
So I decided spending money on starting a project I'm not good at yet is a good way to dig myself out of depression.

I want to upgrade my truck stereo from the stock double DIN F250 unit to a head unit with a touch screen and Bluetooth wireless Android auto.

This will help me resist the urge to upgrade my 10 yr old 2012 F250 (which is perfectly fine still).

My budget is lowish. And I'd like to learn stereo stuff so I'll plan to install it myself.

So the question is: what do I buy?

Zombie

Random Dead Guy
Relevant, but not brand specific info inbound.

One of my requirements when I got my ram was that it have bluetooth for music and calls, I frequently get calls after I drop my youngest off for school in the mornings, so it was almost a safety feature for me. I also had a problem of one of the on-speaker amps being blown - shit design IMO, but it's a 98 Dodge, so...
I ended up pulling new heavier gauge wire through the accordions at the doors, replacing all four speakers, bypassing the OEM tweeters, adding a five channel amp, and an 8" sub in a sealed enclosure that tucks under the driver's seat, and I did it on the cheap. I used kicker speakers with decent frequency response and decent power handling, a boss touch screen head unit with a floating screen - this let me keep the single DIN adapter that was in the truck, and I love that I have the adjustment on the screen, it angles at me, it's easy to see, low enough that it never glares, and if it does, I can change the angle. It fills the space really well.