welder info

Jeromy

ok i am a newbie when it comes to welding. I would like to buy a welder. So far I have been looking at the Lincoln sp-175t mig. It says that it will weld up to 5/16. It also has the option to run gas. would that be a good one to buy?

I want to use it to start making my own bumpers, rock sliders, tire carriers, ect....

Any other suggestions?

Also were would the best place to buy?

thanks
Jeromy

cruiseroutfit

Cruizah!
Vendor
Is that a 175 Amp?... You will definatly want to run MIG gas, in fact its not a mig unless you do run gas, otherwise its just a wire feed. My Millermatic 185 amp has been great. It will weld 3/8" on a single pass.. plently for me.

Jeromy

yah it is a 175 amp. Cool i will make sure i get all the stuff for running gas.

The miller 185 looks to be a little out of my price range. trying to stick to about 6-700. i like the duty cycle on it though

cruiseroutfit

Cruizah!
Vendor
Yeah, it really has been a great welder. Your more than welcome to come test drive it one day. I've never tried the Lincoln your looking at but from everything I've heard, Lincolns are great welders. In fact I learned to weld with an old Lincoln buzz box... that thing was old!. We had a coupel of Hobarts down at the shop, and they were great welder too. Seems like the adjuster knobs always broke off of them. Good Luck:D

kb7sei

I run that welder. It's a nice box, and works very well. I run .030 wire and C25 gas, seems to be a good all-around setup for everything I've welded. It will handle your projects just fine with power to spare. I've done an SAS and engine swap so far with it and it's performed flawlessly.

I bought mine at Humphry's in American Fork, spent about $800 total for the machine, tank (don't remember the size, it's a medium size), wire, and some spare tips. I probably could have gotten a better deal, but I got great service there, and that's worth a few bucks to me.