What about SUWA?

OREGON85

from OREGON
I'm still kind of new to Utah so I feel this is a legitimate question. All I've heard about SUWA is they are bad, nothing specific. I looked at their web site and all it said is the want designated routes that "minimizes conflicts with other users and protects the magnificent resource of Utah's wild redrock country." Pretty vague, so I'm still in the dark. Enlighten me with specifics and no hearsay.

cruiseroutfit

Cruizah!
Vendor
They are fundemental behind the ARWA, which would close down route access. Additionally they proposed massive OHV closures in their BLM RMP alternative proposals. They take a no compromise stance and choose to view RS2477 and right of way laws as 'archaic' and 'tools for abuse'. If and when they were willing to work with OHV groups to protect access and the environment at the same time I think they would be successful, but sadly the idea of Wilderness is a far bigger fund raising activity then Wilderness itself and when you have a full time staff of 15? 20? employees there is some CYA in play.

Bart

They are heavily funded with funds from back east, from people that have never set foot in Utah, but want a say in how it's managed. They use misleading propaganda to sell their point saying that they are protecting Utah from Utahns because we want to put an oil rig and a Wall Mart in every scenic sight and Wilderness Study Area. They lie!

Devel

Just an Outlaw....
They are heavily funded with funds from back east, from people that have never set foot in Utah, but want a say in how it's managed. They use misleading propaganda to sell their point saying that they are protecting Utah from Utahns because we want to put an oil rig and a Wall Mart in every scenic sight and Wilderness Study Area. They lie!

ya we dont put an oil rig on every scenic sight! :p

solidfrontaxle

Toyota jihad
I prefer when the oil rigs are in scenic places. Makes work more interesting. :D