1990 Jeep Cherokee 4.0 high idle problem

jet_aj

Just loosing my mind
I have a 1990 4.0L/Auto XJ with an annoying idle problem... I've searched all over and have tried about everything I can come up with to no avail. I am a mechanic by education but not trade so I haven't done any diagnostic stuff for about 3 years, and I am to the end of my knowledge of this particular system.

When I first start it, it idles just fine at about 500-600RPM, not rough. After about 10 minutes after running and with the engine warmed up by now the idle raises to between 1500-1800RPM. This wouldnt be such a big issue if it was a manual trans (had a 92 wrangler with similar problem but wasnt really an issue) With the auto when I come to a stop the rear wheels want to keep pushing the jeep, which makes breaking harder, and if the roads are snowy/icy it makes for some interesting other problems... tuning sideways/ect... so I have just been putting it into Neutral when I come to a stop, then shifting it back into drive when the light changes... Not bad on streets, but sucks when I want to do some wheeling.

What I've done:
Found this article and tested accordingly
http://autorepair.about.com/library/faqs/bl051i.htm

I've replaced the IAC (no way to check so I just replaced it) = No difference
Tested and replaced the TPS = no difference
Tested the MAP = GOOD condition
Tested the CTS (at sensor and ECM) = GOOD conditon
Checked ALL vacuum lines for breaks/ect. everything seems to be in good shape but I can get new vacuum harnesses for about $35 from www.rockauto.com and thought about just replacing them...

Could the O2 sensor be causing and sort of issue here? I didn't think it would affect idle just the rich/lean condition...

Any help would be great :)

jet_aj

Just loosing my mind
solved the problem.... missing manifold bolt=vacuum leak=high idle
I hate finishing other peoples jobs (guy I bought it from replaced a head gasket and forgot to put all the bolts back in)

Jared