2003 Yamaha Blaster power issues

Jared

Formerly DeadEye J
So, I bought my son a 2003 Blaster to learn on. It's a great size for him and the quad was in very nice condition. It came with a Vito's pipe, and had the factory TORS deleted (throttle override system, a problematic system designed to cut out if a stuck throttle is detected). When we test rode it, it was really boggy on the top end but I figured it was just a jetting issue.

After we got it home, I started playing with jetting. I couldn't find a manufacturer recommended main jet size specific to that pipe, but I found similar pipes were in the 270-310 range. It had a 320 main in it already, so I figured I'd start going down from there. I've tried every jet size down to 250 and it still won't ever hit solid in the powerband. It is strong right off idle, but tapers off very quickly. If there's any drag on the motor, like riding up the easiest of grades, it never even goes above half RPM in any gear. I can get it to rev out somewhat while riding downhill, but it has no power whatsoever. I checked the reeds and they looked good, and passed the tried and true "blow through them both ways" test.

So, I did a compression test, and got a measly 88 PSI cranking pressure. This seemed horribly low, so I went ahead and put in a fresh top end. I haven't checked the compression since, but you can feel a reasonable increase just from the feel of the kick starter. I probably ought to check it again, but these bikes don't have a huge amount of cranking pressure to begin with. The bike runs no different now than before. Coils are cheap, so I replaced that and again no difference. Obviously, I've also replaced the spark plug with an NGK BR8ES, the factory spec.

The TORS setup was my next suspect, but after looking it over the previous owner did everything right. If I jumper the system (which he did) the bike runs, but poorly. If i remove the jumper, it dies immediately after starting.