Bears??

redneckbronco

Dont know if this is the right spot but,,,, Me and the Wife are planning on going out for a cple days and nites on the trail, and Im wondrin if anybodys ever had any problems with bears out here? And what you use for bear defense? I own a .22 but dont think itll do anything other than piss it off if I did have to use it. Has anyone used Bear Mace? does it work? should I even be worried about it? Weve been up AF canyon alot and never had a problem but then theres a ton of people around. This time were wantin to get out further away from the crowds. Any thoughts or input would be greatly appreciated. Thanx.

Last edited:

Caleb

It seems every year there's a bear attack or two around the Wasatch front. Bear Mace is your best bet. Most guns will just piss the bear off unless you get the perfect shot...a .22 wouldn't do anything to a bear. The chances of having a problem are very slim (I've been camping in the mountains of Utah for the last 30 years and have only seen one bear) but just follow the basic guidelines, keep your food and garbage put away and you'll give the bears no reason to come around.

rholbrook

Heres the skinny, shoot a bear and your in trouble unless you have a tag for it. Bear Spray is the only thing that will send them away. A gun shot will generally not scare them off. In Yellowstone, you can carry a gun but you can't fire it in the park, seems silly to me. The Rangers tell you to take mace if your camping in the park. We have an annual fishing trip where we have to hike in. This year it was only 4 miles. Never saw a bear but we have in the past. Saw wolves one year take down a baby elk but we were in about 9 miles. We all carry 40s but know we really can't use it on anything so we have the bear spray handy as well.