Bike reccomendation

Fester

Looking for a used bike for trail, street, dirt road use. Probably will see mostly trail time. I've previously owned a XR650R, but didn't care for the bulk it packed. I'd say I'm a novice rider. I'm also a larger rider (6'3" and around 200 lbs). I've been eyeing 450-530 KTM's, but I'm a little scared of the maintenance. I've also heard good things about the DRZ400. I'd like to stay under $5k.

Wants -
4-stroke
low maintenance
streetable
E-start

Are there any other models I should consider? Of the KTM's are there any models I should avoid or look for? I'm not sure of the differences between the 450, 505, 530.

Any advice is appreciated.
Thanks.

Rot Box

Diesel and Dust
Take it with a grain of salt, but my best advice is to decide now if you want a true dual sport or a street legal dirt bike/enduro. KTM and Husqvarna blend those two categories together pretty darn good but for the most part it's either one or the other with the Japanese bikes.

The DRZ400S (E-start model/street legal) is said to be the best bike out there when it comes to not doing one thing perfect but doing everything very well. I don't know about the kickstart only model but the S is great and I'd recommend one to anyone looking for a true dual sport. My biggest complaint with them is the weight and maybe power. They can be a handful on tight rocky single track and weight wise they are in the same ball park as your XR650R :eek: That said they are very reliable/dependable/forgiving and they're very low maintenance.