Budget 4 stroke bike?

StormRider

So the kids got a Pitster Pro mx110ss for christmas, and I've been looking around for a budget bike I can ride around with them. I've ridden street bikes for 20 years, but I have no experience with dirt bikes. I've been looking at Honda XR 200's and 400's on KSL. The 200 is probably low on the power side for me (6', 200lbs), but the older kid is already flat footed on the 110ss, so she could move up into the 200 later this year.
I'm mostly looking to do easy trail rides with the kids. What else should I be looking for that's going to be in the $1,000 - $1,500 range?

glockman

I hate Jeep trucks
I'd say you are on the right track. An XR200 would be a good starting point and won't break the bank. I'm 5' 10" 220 and rode a TTR 250 all over and loved it. They can be had for around your price range as well.

Chase39

Yeah an xr 200 will be plenty. i have a 300+ pound uncle that trail rides one like no other. its got stiffer springs of course but still tears it up! theyre really fun trail bikes. I've raced motocross for years and can still have plenty of fun on one of those bikes. Plus they run forever if you take care of them.

Kevin B.

Not often wrong. Never quite right.
Yeah an xr 200 will be plenty. i have a 300+ pound uncle that trail rides one like no other. its got stiffer springs of course but still tears it up! theyre really fun trail bikes. I've raced motocross for years and can still have plenty of fun on one of those bikes. Plus they run forever if you take care of them.

Define "forever"? I see all you guys talking about getting "hours" out of your motors, and sometimes it seems like not very many hours. Makes me hesistant to get into the hobby.

boogie_4wheel

I would do an XR250 over a 200. Opens you up to a lot more aftermarket options, and is a lot more and better bike to begin with.