chemistry 1210 question

sibeta

Hey is anybody a whiz at chemistry? I cannot figure out this problem or even get it started. The problem is as follows: How many grams of potassium,K, react, if 1.00 grams of hydrogen gas, is produced when the potassium reacts with water according to the following equation?

2K + 2 H20 -> 2 KOH + H2

someone posted it on the internet but i cannot figure out their method. Hopefully someone can help, thanks.

Brian P

Misanthropic Fuel
Some internet guy said:
Best Answer - Chosen by Voters
2K(s) + 2H2O(l) --> 2KOH(aq) + H2(g)

Ionic equation

2K(s) + 2H2O(l) --> 2K+ + 2OH- + H2(g)

Ok. What's the question?

There are pretty good reasons why this is not a recommended demonstration. Potassium can easily form unstable peroxides and superoxides that can explosively decompose when cutting into a sample of potassium even if it has been stored in kerosene.
Source(s):
I'm a chemistry teacher, and have been for over 35 years.
2 years ago

Google search netted me this!
No I'm not a Chemistry teacher nor do I play one on T.V.

From here...
http://answers.yahoo.com/question/index?qid=20080723121702AAUrFpa

sibeta

yeah i saw that on the internet but it isnt making sense to me how they did it. I have got to be able to explain what i am doing to my professor.

Ogre Palowakski

I think I got it.

The easiest way to do it is with an equation that accounts for molar equivalents and molar masses of the reactants and products. If the equation is set up correctly, you can cancel out things and make sure you end up with the correct answer in the correct units.

Here goes...

1 g H2 x 1 mol H2 / 2.015 g H2 x 2 mol K / mol H x 39.1 g K / mol K = 38.809 g K (or pretty close to 39.1 if you round up).

Here's how it works... you can tell from your original equation that one "quantity" of H2 is produced from 2 "quantities" of K. The "quantity" is expressed in moles, or "mol".