Could I patch this sidewall?

Kirk

I am trying to hang on to 37x12.50x15 MTR's - I almost have 7 tires with 80% or better tread. I bought this following one, realizing about a year later that the sidewall has a cut in it. I have lots of spares with chunked tread and about 25% tread. This current one probably has 70%? I really want to try to use it. My jeep gets trailered around most of the time - but I do run around town and get on the freeway once in a while. I am wondering if patching this from the inside would give me better chances than a row of plugs.

The first picture gives you an idea how far down the sidewall the cut is.

The second one has me pushing out the sidewall so you can see the cut better

The third one is the cut from the inside

The fourth picture is my current spare I have been carrying around for 3 years with plugs in the sidewall - again probably 75% tread. Is that one safer to run?

Curious if anyone has any experience with these types of cuts....

Attachments

• IMG_0056.JPG
    IMG_0056.JPG
    43.2 KB · Views: 34
  • IMG_0058.JPG
    IMG_0058.JPG
    58.5 KB · Views: 34
  • IMG_0062.JPG
    IMG_0062.JPG
    62.4 KB · Views: 33
  • IMG_0060.JPG
    IMG_0060.JPG
    62.1 KB · Views: 36

sixstringsteve

I'll bet you could vulcanize those. Take 'em to a tractor tire repair place and tell them they're for off-road only (I hope you're not planning on taking these on the highway).

mombobuggy

A heat/vulcanized patch should do the trick for at least one of them. as long as it does not get below 15 p.s.i. they tend to fail at single digits. you may also consider running an Agricultural tube they are very robust. For off road use only at this point I would say.

Kirk

Thanks for the responses - can tires with tubes be balanced?

Would like to be able to run them down to 12 ish pounds.

rollover