D.A.V.e is Unwell

JL Rockies

Binders Fulla Expo
As many of you know, I've been on extended campaign on the US Peninsula. Since arriving, there have been some issues that were not apparent in UT, and for the most part, I learned to live with them. Things have become more serious in the last few days. I'm no mechanic, I will do my best to describe.

D.A.V.e 1997 4Runner 3.4 liters of awesome, 248k miles

When the truck gets rained on overnight (sitting in the rain, not driving in the rain), D.A.V.e runs like poop until the engine is operating temp. I assumed it was some condensation on something electrical that burns off with the heat of the engine. It never threw a code and it was not a huge deal. Until about two weeks ago, it became bad enough to get a multiple cylinder misfire code. I cleared the codes and they haven't come back.

Out of nowhere, D.A.V.e became hard to start when the engine was warm, had to flutter the gas pedal like my old Ford Grenada to start it. This went on for about a week or two, and has effed off.

Last week, I was sitting in bumper to bumper traffic and noticed the engine chugging to the point I thought it would stall, I kept my foot on the gas to keep the RPMs up and got to where I needed to go. Ten minutes later, I was heading back to work in the same traffic, the chugging started and I noticed the temp gauge was off the scale. I immediately put the heat on full blast, but no heat came out. I managed to make it back to work and checked under the hood, I heard no boiling and the overflow bottle was bone dry. Not wanting to open a hot radiator I filled the overflow bottle with water and started the engine again. No issues at idle, drove home that night without incident, no issues for the rest of the week. No clue why no heat came out, seems to work now.