Land Rover Discovery II engine swap

jallen9

I'm a new member to this forum, and i'm fairly new to the world of off roading, so be kind! This is my first thread on this forum, other than an intro thread.

I'm trying to get my wife into off roading and stuff like that, and she really likes Land Rover Discoveries. She also really likes diesel engines. Foreign Range Rovers used a BMW diesel I6 - the M51 series engine, and BMW just started putting M57 series diesel engines into the X5 and 3 series cars. These are good engines. They make 265 hp and 425 (!) ft/lbs, and get 26 highway MPG in the almost 5200 lb X5 (yes, 5200 lb!!!). I imagine a discovery could do a bit better than that with a manual transmission and weighing just under 4700 lb, but maybe the aerodynamics would counteract the lighter weight.

So, I hatched an idea, and I'm trying to work out the details:

Get an 03-04 (04 preferably, for the center diff lock)
-2011 BMW X5 diesel engine
-2006 BMW X5 6 speed manual transmission - the ZF S6-53

Wiring - BMW used to own Land Rover, they both use bosch ECUs, and BMW used some land rover parts in the early X5s. I'm pretty sure the wiring will work between the engine and the disco. I'm not sure, so that's going to be the hardest part.

Engine Mounts - I think I can use the diesel engine mounts from the foreign range rovers, but i'm not sure. I don't know if the frame is the same between discoveries and range rovers. Either way, motor mounts aren't that hard to fabricate.

transfer case - The X5 6 speed manual was also used in foreign (grrr) LR3s, but i don't know if the transfer case is the same, or if the bolt pattern is even the same. If not, I suppose I can have an adapter fabricated or use the LR3 transfer case.