Gas VS Diesel what to look for.

alwaysxj

one hot moma!!!!
So I am still really new to the whole truck and towing thing. I've always drove a jeep as a DD. I am towing a camper that weights about 7k or more loaded, with a 2002 dodge 1500 with the 5.9L. It just doesn't seem like the truck is up to it and i am worried i will run the truck in to the ground if i keep towing with it. I am looking to upgrade to a 2500 or even a 3500 gas or diesel. looking to spend up to 11k. I have done some reading about diesels and it seems the truck to buy is a dodge 1996-1998 and some of the ford 7.3L. I would like 4 full doors if i can since that is what i am used to. what years and make of gas or diesel should i be looking for not too picky on make but i would like something newer than 98. Also when I am not towing the camper i daily drive the truck so i would like something that gets "good" gas mileage. I have a buddy that tows with a GMC with the 6.0 but he tells me around town he only gets about 10 mpg I need something better than that. Is this what i can expect out of a gas motor?

Thanks for any help!

Last edited:

1adam12

THE BEAST
Unless you pull 10k plus you really dont need a deisel as far as gassers go I would only drive a chevy or a new tundra, and im a ford fan. I just think those two gassers are superior to the ford and dodge options. 3/4 will be fine. My friend claims 20mpg with a 6.0 gm but he is old and drives like a grandpa.

alwaysxj

one hot moma!!!!
Yeah i kind of thought my buddy was full of it, he does have a heavy though but still i would think it would get better then 10. my truck now gets 13-14. what about the 8.0 Chevy or GMC or how are the V-10 fords or any gas motor from ford for that matter?
Thanks!

1adam12

THE BEAST