Ham radio question...

OCNORB

Supporting Member
Ok,

So I'm a total newb. Currently taking the technician class, will be testing in a few weeks. Been listening in on a hacked together-on-the-kitchen-table system which uses an Icom IC-2800 that I picked up at a garage sale a few years ago. I've always wanted to jump into this and finally have some time.

I'm looking to the experienced Ham guys here for a bit of advice. I'd like to purchase a handheld for use on back-country trips, so I'm already leaning towards a radio with the built in GPS. Short list includes the Icom ID-51A +, Yaesu FT1DR, and the Kenwood THD-72A. Watched a ton of video reviews online about the Icom and Yaesu radios and the differences in D-Star and Fusion.

The app that Icom has that allows you to control the radio with a tablet or android phone gives it the edge in my uneducated mind. With the maps capabilities and the built-in GPS displayed on a nice tablet or smartphone it *SEEMS* like it would be a good way to combine communications and off-road navigation into one compact package that can still be used for other activities. Seems that D-Star repeaters are the dominant type around here.

So what does the experienced Ham with years of wisdom on the subject think of these handhelds? Are the digital sides worth worrying about?

Any advice from the gurus is welcome. I know Mbryson has been involved...

nnnnnate

Supporting Member