I need to learn how to weld

37sXJ

I know, it's pathetic... an offroader who can't weld. I'm ready to put an end to this!

Is there someone out there willing to give me a few hour crash course? I'm willing to pay a reasonable price (but free is always nice!) I've never done it, but I've been around it and seen it done many times. I'm willing to go pretty much anywhere on the wasatch front, preferrably after normal work hours or a weekend. Any takers?

waynehartwig

www.jeeperman.com
37sXJ said:
I know, it's pathetic... an offroader who can't weld. I'm ready to put an end to this!

Is there someone out there willing to give me a few hour crash course? I'm willing to pay a reasonable price (but free is always nice!) I've never done it, but I've been around it and seen it done many times. I'm willing to go pretty much anywhere on the wasatch front, preferrably after normal work hours or a weekend. Any takers?
IMO welding is a self taught thing, learn by doing. I would pick up some books on metal and learn about working with steel and all of it's specifications - sheer points, surface tension, etc. Then you can learn where the weld is supposed to be and how it's supposed to be done. If you attack it this way, you'll be a better welder than most, and you still haven't even touched a welder.

This is how my dad taught me 25 years ago, not that I remember everything. My welds won't come apart, the metal will give way before and I just use a little 110 welder. Flame on, but do this guy a favor, if you don't agree with me using a 110 welder, leave it my PM, not in his thread.

RockMonkey

Suddenly Enthusiastic
There are lots of different types of welders. What you probably want is a mig welder. Get a 220 volt welder. You can save a couple bucks by getting a 110 but you will quickly outgrow it's capabilities and you will wish you got the 220. Here's a short list of good welders to start with. Pick your favorite color.

http://www.hobartwelders.com/products/handler180.html