OrangeSkidPlates 98 Cherokee Build

OrangeSkidPlate

Well I've decided that I want to start a build tread. I definitely don't have the biggest or baddest rig but I have done all the work myself, minus the adjustable ball joints and gears. I am always learning how to do things, whether it be the wrong or right way. So here we go.
I started with a 89 K5 Blazer and loved it. It would go through any mud pit I pointed it towards. As soon as I graduated high school I wanted to pick something up that was a little bit better on gas. So I started looking around and heard a lot of good things about Cherokees. Since I was on a limited budget and thought I could fix anything I picked up a Cherokee off my buddy. I realize now that this was a terrible decision. The kid had blown the tranny, spray painted it black and had screwed with a bunch of other things. But for 700 dollars for a Jeep with no rust (two years later I found a lot of bondo and rust) and 116000 miles was a good deal.

I know, I am cool.
So I threw a new tranny in and it drove like a champ. Basically kept it the way it was when I bought it for a year. Then I wanted some bigger tires, so I got some 33/12.5 MT/Rs, trimmed my fenders and put on an OME light duty leaf pack. Thinking I had a super badass rig, I went to Moab for the first time. I did the first part of Hells Revenge, Porcupine rim and Fins and Things. The mechanical fan clutch ended up going out so I couldn't keep the Jeep cool crawling around.

As soon as I hit one ledge on Porcupine Rim, I knew that I needed to invest more money into the heep. My LSD wasn't helping as much as I thought it would and I couldn't flex worth anything. Somehow got up the ledge.
Once I moved up to Logan for school I met my good buddy who has a Grand Cherokee affectionately named the Green Wienie. Anyways, he opened my eyes to lockers. So I picked up a Lock-Right for my Dana 30 and went to EJS 2013. Jeep was still not as bad as I thought it was.
Seth from trail ridge