propane power jeep j-10

J.D. Howells

I am new to this whole building a big rig thing. I love it though I have a 1982 jeep j-10 and I am putting in a AMC 401 w/ th400 and 205t-case I am looking to propane power the 401 but dont really know what to get I have looked but never got the info I needed so if you have info it would be greatly appreciated

Unichev

Propane Guy is about half the cost of the Got Propane Kit. Maybe even 1/3 of the price. I am very happy with the components I got from PropaneGuy.com
I installed everything, didnt adjust anything, and it started right up the first time and runs awesome.

J.D. Howells

thanks

I appreciate your info it really helped out I have been blown off by Impco and these web sights are great thanks. oh one more question is it possible to run off gas and propane and I hear you have to advance your timeing.

harkinoff

something to do...
J.D. Howells said:
I appreciate your info it really helped out I have been blown off by Impco and these web sights are great thanks. oh one more question is it possible to run off gas and propane and I hear you have to advance your timeing.
Runs fine on either.. No advancing needed...

rkillpack

Converted Oil Burner
Resurrection

I just talked to an engine shop and they said to lower the compression for propane. Everyone else says increase it. Say the compression in the motor is 8:1 now what should it be to take advantage of propane? Everyone with a propane motor speak your mind please because I am confused.
Thnks.

Kiel

Formerly WJ ZUK
propane octane runs anywhere from 104-110 octane, so you can build a preety high compression ratio. I run propane in my samurai, and I'm buil;ding another motor right now I think somewhere around 10.5 TO 11 is what I'm shooting for.

rkillpack

Converted Oil Burner
Really?