School me up on family cars under $35K

MR.CJ-7

Your Realtor
Its time to get wifey a new car.

Currently she has a '99 Altima that she absolutely loves. It has had only one minor trip to the service department in the 10years we've had it...knock on wood.

Anyone know anything about the new Nissan Altimas? What about other makes/models. Maybe Honda Accord, Toyota Camry? She has looked at the "Big 3" and doesn't see anything she is really crazy over.

We went "shopping" last night and found an Altima that she loves, but it has black leather interior. Anyone have that in their car? How hot does it get in the summer?

We have time to shop around, we don't plan to buy anything for a month or two since I'm waiting on a nice commission check to see whether I need financing or not.

pennieslj

It is what it is.
I work in the car business. All three models you mentioned are good choices. The G8 that was mentioned and the new Chevy Malibu are a couple of the nicer domestics. I would tell you to drive each one that you are interested in and take a couple days to decide. Research the deals that are available and contact multiple dealers online.

Personally I would look at the Nissan Maxima(sporty family car) and the Subaru Legacy(great in the snow).

Caleb

We're getting my wife a new Lexus IS250 AWD in the next little bit. I like the AWD aspect and the quality of a Lexus tends to be a fair bit nicer than the standard big 3. If we don't end up with a Lexus (highly unlikely) then we will likely go with a Subaru Legacy.

SLC97SR5

IDIesel
My wife has a 2005 Toyota Camry and it has given us ZERO problems. We are Toyota people and would love to score a 2009 Camry SE, I also really like the Avalon.

The Avalon really is a baby Lexus.

They are not the sportiest but have good looks, rock solid reliability and nice powertrains.

MR.CJ-7

Your Realtor