Skyjacker VS Fabtech

Ramme

Big Blue
I am going to lift my truck and I am wondering what lift is better. I have a 98 Dodge Ram 1/2 ton. I will be running 285 or 315 tires. Here's the question. I can get a Fabtech 3.5 inch lift for about $650 or I can get a 3 inch skyjacker for about $550 or $600. So what is better. Who is more reliable, who makes better parts, ETC. Any info is helpful.

Ramme

BlackSheep

baaaaaaaaaad to the bone
Supporting Member
Fabtech

Skyjacker

guys, let's actually help the guy out some. Why do you like whichever it is you recommend? What makes it better than the other? How about any personal experience either with the company or with the actual product in question.

I have no experience with fabtech products, but I do have several skyjacker products on my jeep (not susp lift parts). I can say that I'm not terribly impressed with the parts I have (hi clearance belly pan, 'heavy duty' tie rod, steering box skidplate).

I bent the belly pan going over a rock - what's the use of a skid plate if it bends on you?

I snapped the tie rod hitting a rock....

So, I'll have to see and hear some good reports of skyjacker products before i buy one sight unseen.

bobdog

4x4 Addict!
I put a skyjacker kit on my old F150. Everything in the kit was of high quality for a mass produced kit. It was thier top of the line system with extended radius arms and new rear springs with no blocks and it rides very nice. Every thing fit good and the hardest part of the instal was removing the old stuff. The kit came with every thing I needed except for bushings for the TTB arms. I know that they make several different kits for Dodges so look at what you get. You usually get what you pay for. Don't know anything about Fabtech. Dick Cepek used to make a long arm kit that looked nice.

I like fabtech because it's blue. Blue is better than red.:)