Toyota V6

MattL

Just wondering what the specs are on this motor. I havent heard much complaining or admiring compaired to the 22r and 22re.

I am on my way to look at a toy and it supposed to have a probem matic v6 and need info on it. Dunno what is wrong should know soon though.

Just wanting others info on this motor.

Greg

Make RME Rockcrawling Again!
Admin
I used to work in a shop that specalized in Toyotas and the general concensus of the V6 was that it sucked. Usually they needed rebuilds quite often (Compared to a 22RE), had poor performance & power, etc. I have never owned one myself though.....

88 Runner SAS

Saving Money For Parts
Alright has anyone tried swapping a 22re in where a 3.0 was? I've heard it was a pain putting the 3.0 in. I was just wondering, because we're getting a runner with a 3.0 in it. And I thought that if it ever went I would swap a 22re in its place, because I know they will take a beating. It'll probably last quite a while though cause my fiance is the one driving it:D

SuperRunner

Turbo is my middle name
3.0V6 flat out sucks. Although it does make better low end torque than the 22R.

If you are going to swap in something, I highly recommend the 7M motor. The N/A can easily produce 220HP with 220 ft/lbs of torque with very few mods. Only problem would be the bellhousing. You would have to lose the v6 tranny and stick in a G or W series. You would have to get a different bellhousing anyway to get it to bolt to the 22R.

Greg

Make RME Rockcrawling Again!
Admin
I think when I eventually decide the 22RE has had enough of a beating, a Non-Turbo 7M will find its way under the hood of my truck. 220/220 is comparable to a 4.3 swap, but keeps it all Toyota parts.

Speaking of........ Does Nate still have that white Supra?

yellowjacket

Much more comfortable