Unibody and no doors

Cody

Random Quote Generator
Supporting Member
Soooo, Herzog (at least I think it was your XJ I saw a pic of) et. al. What is the impact of running doorless w/ the unibody? Most of the ZJ crew is afraid of it as they don't think the doors will go on again as a result of the twisting of the unibody. Are the doors that big of a part of the structure? I realize that in a rollover you would deffinately want them on, but is it that big of a deal to take them off for some trail duty?

I really want to run doorless next time in Moab.

Cody

xjc

I give up :(
Iam no expert but that sounds like a wives tale to me. If twistin it up tweeks the body that much, I would think you wouldn't be able to get the doors open afterward. I have an XJ and wouldn't hesitate to run doorless. Besides, all the door is held on with is two little hinges and a pin. That can't provide too much rigidity to the body!

Any way, Thats the view of someone who has never done it.

Ps. I am an engineer but that doesn't neccesarily meen much;):confused:

moabjeeper

Man Down!!!!
I wanted to do that with my cherokee but I could never get the doors off. I only tired once though, but since I dont have a cherokee anymore I cant. I have heard roomers about that but I think they are just wives tells.

Herzog

somewhat damaged
Admin
Originally posted by xjc
Iam no expert but that sounds like a wives tale to me. If twistin it up tweeks the body that much, I would think you wouldn't be able to get the doors open afterward. I have an XJ and wouldn't hesitate to run doorless. Besides, all the door is held on with is two little hinges and a pin. That can't provide too much rigidity to the body!

Any way, Thats the view of someone who has never done it.

Ps. I am an engineer but that doesn't neccesarily meen much;):confused:

What he said. :)

Been running Moab and local trails doorless for about 3 years w/ no problems so far.

grinch

inner city redneck