What is a good setup for Utah?

skeptic

I posted this on a jeep site and got some good answers (and was led here as well), but I thought I'd toss it out for general discussion here. When it comes to rocks, I'm a complete newbie. As of next week I'll be relocated to the SLC area so I don't even know the area or what to expect for wheeling.

When it comes to wheeling around SLC, Moab as well as more local areas, what would be considered the minimum specs to hit the trails with others, not waste everyones time needing to be dragged over every obstacle, and generally keep up without being a pain in the butt? For this discussion, assume a decent cross section of local trails, not what it takes to run the most hardcore, as well as taking bypasses. Again, I'm trying to get an idea of the minimum necessary to get out and start enjoying the trails.

If it matters I plan to run a Cherokee, but hopefully the specific rig I run doesn't matter much for this topic other than SFA and wheelbase... I don't even have the Cherokee yet (I plan to get rid of my Wrangler first).

edit: I forgot to mention, this will be my daily driver so keep that in mind.

Last edited:

Caleb

well, if ya got a 4wd you can certainly get out and start enjoying some of the local trails, as you build bigger you can progress to the harder trails but there is a good variety of stuff from fireroads to more extreme than what most can do...just know your limits and I dont think you'll be a burden on anyone ;)

OCNORB

Supporting Member
My personal minimums:

33" inch tires
Rear locker
Strap
tool kit
first aid kit
fluids

Lift is irrelevant- cut out the fenders and go!! :rofl:

TRNDRVR

IMA BUM
Personally, for a Cherokee, I would go no less than:

XJ rear D44. 33 spline Superior alloy shafts with 33 spline Detroit.
HP D44 in the front. Warn alloy outers, Dutchman/Superior alloy inners running CTM's and an ARB.
4:88 gears
35" MTR's
Tom Woods NP242 SYE with matching rear shaft.