Winter project

Dixon

I hate just sitting around in the winter watching tv and getting fat so I'm starting a Samurai crawler build. I built one with my 19 year old son and we had a great time, one more son to do some bonding with. My plans for the build are start off with a 4.3 chev motor and 350 auto,4-1 gears in t-case, toyota axles, 4 link rear suspension and yj reverse shackles front suspension. I'm shooting for a wheel base of 92" (stock wheel base 78") and run 35. I picked up a base sami no running gear but good body cheep. Also got a motor, power steering conversion, and a transmission this past week. The treasure hunt has begin. Stopped buy the salvage yard last friday to get some metal and they had a astro van with multi port fuel injection $20. Now thats a treasure. I'm not an expert builder but I do know how to have fun with metal. Encouragement helps move the project along.

Attachments

• rme 1 pick up sami.jpg
    rme 1 pick up sami.jpg
    59.6 KB · Views: 47
  • rme 4 engine.jpg
    rme 4 engine.jpg
    48.1 KB · Views: 59
  • rme 3 fuel injection.jpg
    rme 3 fuel injection.jpg
    44.8 KB · Views: 56
  • rme 5 axle.jpg
    rme 5 axle.jpg
    57.1 KB · Views: 33

Greg

Make RME Rockcrawling Again!
Admin
Looks like a good pile of parts & an even better plan! What's your timeline or is there one? What T-Case are you going to use?

Dixon

I started stripping the flare brackets off the wheel wells and rocker panels. The good old spot weld cutter did the job

Last edited:

Dixon

Tonight I split the body from the frame this will enable me to do my motor and trans mounts easier. I also need to mount the steering box and install the new suspension. Like I said I've done this before on a samurai so I have a reference to get measurements off of. Should make installing the running gear alot slicker (no guessing).

Attachments

• rme bare frame.jpg
    rme bare frame.jpg
    48.7 KB · Views: 31
Last edited:

Dixon

Greg said: