ZJ front Driveshaft: Rookie question

RWH

Let's Roll For Justice
Alright i'm new to the ZJ thing and my front Driveshaft went out. CV failure, new one from dealer $600. So what i need to know is what parts am i going to need to convert the front shaft to a Double Cardon/ U-joint style shaft as apposed to the Double Cardon/CV style shaft. :cool:

Thanks in advance.

Last edited:

Cody

Random Quote Generator
Supporting Member
you may be able to find the shaft in a yard but I'm not sure which years to tell you to look for. Both of my ZJ's are/were 95's, one came with the good shaft, the other had the shitty ass driveshaft.

I'm sure Tom Woods could help you out. If you tell him you saw his banner at Grand Slam West, I bet he'll give you a good deal. I used to have major driveshaft issues until I switched to TW shafts, since then they have performed flawlessly.

Cody

RWH

Let's Roll For Justice
i'm really looking for a how to sort of deal to convert the stupid thing.. I have no problem building my own shafts. :)

i've gotta do this fairly cheap... i'm already duming $300 in the rear left brake assemble because the emergency brake fell apart and jammed the rotor to a halt causing it to shatter and take the entire bracket and all the lines and ABS sensor with it... If that wasn't enough the damn thing stabbed into my rim and jabbed a big ole hole in it.... :mad:

Last edited:

Brett

Meat-Hippy
5DollerShake said:
i'm really looking for a how to sort of deal to convert the stupid thing.. I have no problem building my own shafts. :)

I'd hesitate on building your own shaft unless you can balance....or your have the NP242 case in your ZJ. Almost all of the ZJ's that I have seen use the NP249 case, so you're ALWAYS going to be using that front shaft during normal driving.

So, the question is, which do you have?

RWH

Let's Roll For Justice