Any ideas on this clunking/popping noise?

Wasatch Rebel

Man of the mountains
I'm really a novice at off-road vehicle repairs. Trying to get better though! Last Friday and Saturday I had to drive in to the Uintas on a really rocky road. When I came back out and got on the main road, I heard this popping/clunking type noise from underneath my 4runner. I took it to my mechanic yesterday and he said it was broken sway bar connectors, or something like that, so they replaced those. The thing is, as I drove it home, I heard the same sounds I was hearing before they fixed it. So, though the sway bar connectors may have been broken, something else is causing the noise I'm hearing. Any ideas on what it might be?

iamsparticus

Take your Rig to the Edge
it could be a broken drive shaft u-joint or a CV joint thats cracked and poping, its hard to say id post up a recording of it

bryson

RME Resident Ninja
Supporting Member
I'd check the rear trackbar... bad bushing or loose bolts could certainly cause annoying clunks. Even if the bolts look tight, put a wrench on them and make sure they are damn tight.

SLC97SR5

IDIesel
X2 for the rear panhard bar. The upper bolt came loose on my '97 several times. If you get under the runner and grab the bar while rocking it up and down it will become apparent. 17 or 19mm I believe. If the front struts came loose you need to address those ASAP as they are supporting the coilover and thus the front end of your Toyota. The broken swaybar endlinks are common and will break again unless upgraded.
There was also a TSB issued regarding greasing the rear driveline slipyoke to eliminate binding. That can be felt as a clunk when starting from a hard stop.

Last edited:

sixstringsteve

Here are a few questions to ask yourself when diagnosing vehicle problems:

- what behavior makes the symptoms worse?
- what behavior makes the symptoms go away?
- is the noise coming from the front or the back of the vehicle? Left or right side?