discrimination?

grinch

inner city redneck
OK here is a good one for you lawyer types..... I am a commercial plumber for a company that is doing a remodel at the church office building in salt lake. I have been there for 3 days now and was informed by my Forman today that The church said I cannot wear short sleeved shirts anymore because I have tattoos that are visible.... WTF... Does this count as discrimination? I was upset at the fact that im good enough to plumb their building but not good enough to walk around it??? I was mad and didn't put on a long sleeve shirt. I was the only one asked to put one on it would be different if everyone was told to but I was singled out because of a few tattoos... Is that even legal for them to do? This is not a thread set up to harass or bash other mormons. My company is ownd by a morman family and they have been nothing but good to me. Its just sad when somone is made to feel inferior. Yes I took it personal I has now caused problems with my job. Im a construction worker why should a few tattoos make me do a less quality job? UGH sorry guy rant off.......

Greg

Make RME Rockcrawling Again!
Admin
Sorry to hear, I can see how you'd be upset.

While I do think it's BS, I would imagine the church probably has some 'standards' that they want all people working on the grounds to follow. Do they allow smoking on the property? If not, I would imagine it's something along those lines.

Also, working on the church office buildings, there are some very well-respected individuals of the church walking around. Perhaps there are tighter standards on that location?

spencurai

Vanilla Gorilla
There are companies all over the world that will not allow you to have tatoos showing. My company requires you to wear long sleeve shirts in the summer if your tatoos show below your short sleeve shirts. I know of several other previous employers that require tatoos to be covered or hidden....

It is not discrimination, it is life.

Greg