Easter Weekend Jeep "Build"

Marshall

Was That a U-Joint?
This Easter weekend I thought I would finally install the parts I have been collecting for a few months:

-Ironrock Offroad 7" Critical Path Lift
-Ford 8.8 Rear Axle: 4.88 gears with Mini Spool
-HP D30 Front Axle: 4.88 gears with Spartan Locker
-Heavy Duty SYE / CV Driveshaft
-Teraflex 2 Low Kit

Here are some picture highlights...

photo (17).jpg

8.8 Mounted...

photo (18).jpg

8.8 waiting...

photo (19).jpg

231 SYE and Tera 2 Low installed...

photo (20).jpg

Old axle out...

photo (21).jpg

New HP 30 waiting to go in...

photo (22).jpg

SYE & 2 Low kit...

photo (23).jpg

Before...

photo (24).jpg

and After

All in all everything went really smooth and was a fun project for a long weekend.

Marshall

Was That a U-Joint?
is there an easy way to move the rear axle back 2-3" on these?

A rear long arm kit would gain you some more adjustment, but I don't see moving it much further back without moving the upper spring mount because my spring perch on the axle is pretty lined up with it as is. This lift is long arm in the front and short in the rear, in the picture I hadn't adjusted the rear arms yet, just bolted them up as short as they would go because my cv driveshaft was too short, I got the shaft lengthened yesterday and adjusted the short arms to their maximum usable length as per the tech at Ironrock Offroad so it looks a little better than the picture, but the tire still favors the front of the wheel well. The arms are short however, so as the suspension compresses the tire moves rearward into the wheel well (not hitting the fender as it appears it would). The next upgrade will be long arms for the rear for sure, but for now I will just wheel it and see what works and what needs to be changed...

Marshall

Was That a U-Joint?