Mixing Leafs, Coils and Swaybars

Greg

Make RME Rockcrawling Again!
Admin
Just a tangent on another Thread-

I want to toss TJ Coils in the rear of my Toyota. After reading the posts about the Currie Anti-Rock bars and how they affect the Wrangler's offroad performance, I was curious if my Rig would benefit or be hampered by a dedicated Swaybar in the rear.

So? Yeah or Nay? And why?

Herzog

somewhat damaged
Admin
I think with the leafs up front, the rear coils wouldn't need any kind of stabilization. It seems that the front leafs would keep the rig plenty ballanced. Just like my Cherokee with the leafs in the rear, I can sidehill very comfortably because I feel like my rear leafs keep my rig balanced.

I have no experience with these other types of swaybars, but I get the logic behind them.

If you were running coils on all four corners, then I would tell you to probably look into these swaybar setups.

Greg

Admin
Bingo! I thought of the XJ and how it was setup, thinking my truck w/ coils in the rear would be more or less similar.

Hopefully the 2 diffrent types of springs will equal out the flex, without one end taking all the Twist.

ewander

My bro-in-law runs his cherokee with coils all around, and no sway bars. The control arms are set up in a way that it is very stable on side hills, more stable than my YJ...even after I lowered it, and it has 10" of lift on it and 35's. Let me see if I can find a picture of it....

Their web site is under construction...

Herzog

somewhat damaged
Admin
Originally posted by ewander
My bro-in-law runs his cherokee with coils all around, and no sway bars. The control arms are set up in a way that it is very stable on side hills, more stable than my YJ...even after I lowered it, and it has 10" of lift on it and 35's. Let me see if I can find a picture of it....

Their web site is under construction...

Matt's rig is really sweet. I haven't had a chance to see it in action yet. :(

RockMonkey

Suddenly Enthusiastic