POR-15

BrockSampson

Has anyone ever used this stuff?

Its supposed to be pretty durable. They call it 'powdercoat in a can'.

I was thinking of repainting all my suspension components with it.

Does anyone have a reason to NOT use it?

Thanks
Bryan

KHalls

Extendurai
I paint stuff for a living. I use it on mine.
I can tell you that this is some of the toughest paint I cave come across. It flows out nice with a brush on suspension parts and sticks like crazy to rougher metal that is prepped with metal ready. It does fade in the sun, therefore, if you want to have it, say on a bumper, you would want to shoot a topcoat on it when it is still tacky. After it dries, nothing will stick to it unless it is roughed up.
Also, it is pretty expensive, but a little goes a long way. They used to make a trial kit that has, I think a pint or so, that is not too expensive. Try it out.
If you get it on your hands, it is there to stay.
If you use it, do yourself a favor and don't get any where the lid fits on the can, or you will end up having to tear the can apart to get to it the next time.
I keep mine in a small fridge in the shop. Lasts longer that way.
My 2.

lewis

Fight Till You Die
I have used it. It is very brittle and would chip off the stuff I put it on very easily. I painted all my springs and shocks and it didn't last very long on the springs but the shocks stayed looking good.There could be a possibility I didn't put it on right as I am no paint expert but I followed all the directions. Was not worth the gold it costs in my opinion.

BrockSampson

Thanks for the replys.

I think I'll give this stuff a try. They do have a small starter kit that is only $20. I'll just paint a few small parts to see how it turns out.

According to there website, they have topcoats that are not sensitive to UV light. So if I do use it on everything I'll use the topcoat too.