Tires?

Thatredjeep

So I am new to Jeeping and am looking for some knowledge on tires. I have bf goodriches on my jeep right now, i like them but they seem to be wearing out incredibly fast! they seem to be good for crawling but to soft for pavement. does anyone have a tire that they think is good for both?

sixstringsteve

which model bf goodrich tires do you have? Tell us about your jeep and driving needs. How far do you drive on pavement every day? What kind of offroading do you do? What size tire are we talking about?

I think every manufacturer makes a decent tire these days. Some of my favorites are:

BFG Mud Terrain KM2
Maxxis Trepador Radials
Goodyear Wrangler MT/R Kevlar
Goodyear Duratracs (with the 3-ply sidewall only)
Falken Wild Peaks
Nitto Muds

Last edited:

STAG

On my grind
I have the KM2's on my pickup truck, and I have loved them offroad, but they were a lot louder than I had expected when putting them on; usually peoples first words when they get in my truck for a ride are along the lines of "holy *#}%, are those your tires that are that loud?"

I have about 40k miles on them from new and they are finally all but wore out. I found out early on that they are super picky about tire pressure. Granted my truck is something like ~9500 lbs or something though.

I think my next tire will be the Mickey Thompson Baja ATZ radial. Having said that, my truck is 85% highway/city miles, and 15 % offroad.

Last edited:

Thatredjeep

i use it mostly for driving but am trying to go wheelin more just need to find a group that goes often that i can go with. i go down to moab and go on all sorts of trails. my rig is a 97 jeep wrangler tj with a 4 inch lift, i have 31 on it and am looking to keep that size. the bfs i have on now are a/t. I'm not sure if i want a more aggressive tire or what. any thoughts?

sixstringsteve