welding rearend

redrock

i have a question has anyone welded there gears in the rearend before and if so does it last?

reason why i ask is this summer i am going to buy all the stuff to do a SOA take me all summer to get it. but i want a locker for playing purposes someone said weld it and i wonder if it will last all summer?

Hickey

Burn-barrel enthusiast
Supporting Member
It might, but it might not last. I have done plenty, but I have no experience with the 35. find out if it's a c-clip or non c-clip. at the very least you will need to have spare shaft on hand at all times.

spencurai

Vanilla Gorilla
I wouldn't. a locker only costs about 250 at my best guess. hook up.

are you planning on swapping out the rear end when you do the SOA? that is the big question. is it because you don't want to put money into a turd axle?

redrock

Originally posted by spencurai
I wouldn't. a locker only costs about 250 at my best guess. hook up.

are you planning on swapping out the rear end when you do the SOA? that is the big question. is it because you don't want to put money into a turd axle?
yeah i am going to swap them, i want the 8.8 or the d-44, i was just thinking about it and wanted some other opinoins, i just hate to put 250 in to a axle to just get rid of it. i don't have that many problems the way i am now just be whole lot more fun not to have any problem. i don't think i will do it but just asking

spencurai

Vanilla Gorilla
in that case take jeremy's advice. find out if it is a c-clip axle. this makes it a bit more difficult to weld if it is a c-clip type. you have to keep things neat and tidy in there so you can get the c-clips in and out of the carrier when you snap a shaft....notice I said when and not if.....:) hook up with the d-44 axle. I have been recently convinced that the 8.8 is a bit overrated....

Shawn

Just Hanging Out