South-East Utah Trying to decide what trails to choose for winter on the rocks

chuck85

I'm looking to get some insight to what trails to run over wotr I have never ran anything out there and from what I can see it looks alot like moab in which I am very familiar with. A little about my truck and wheeling experience, 2001 tacoma double cab, sased,supercharged,dualcased,dual locked on 37s and a bunch of other stuff. Ive been wheeling for around 5 years and my last rig was a fully built and exoed 4 runner that I sold because I wanted to have something just as capable with some nicer driving and comfortable features like having a conversation while driving would be one. I naturally gravitate to more technical trails that are challenging and I can learn new things on, with that said I have been a more of a finesse wheeler partly because it just handles hard obstacles with alot more ease, the other reason is I love to drive this truck on a daily basis. So anyone that is very familiar with the trails out there let me know your thoughts. The first few I have read on where john's trail, milt's mile the maze, slip lock.

N-Smooth

Smooth Gang Founding Member
I ran John's and Milt's once and will never run them again, they weren't very fun. We run West Rim and The Maze every trip since they're right next to each other. I will also run Sliplock every time for sure. Other fun ones are Smurfette's and Nasty Half. There are a lot of very tough trails down there so you really just have to decided how willing you are to risk body damage. I've broken windows and gotten some pretty big dents but I also don't mind that.

chuck85

Nate I want to say we used to be neighbors on rialto way brad the guy with all the toyota's. Thanks for the pointers, Not a big fan of body damage but at certain levels its just part of the sport.

N-Smooth

Small world, Brad. You can certainly have plenty of fun down there while avoiding damage. Sand Hollow is amazing!

kmboren